Fall 2016

This schedule covers both NV 3 (New Ventures: Operating Plan Development, Fall 1 & 2) and NV 1 (New Ventures: Opportunity Evaluation, Fall 2 but with an mid-October start). The schedule is subject to revision.

All classes are 3:00 – 5:15.

Unless otherwise indicated, meetings will be held in the Seminar Room G at Fuqua. Take the elevator across from Rand/Sauer Classrooms to the 2nd floor.

All P4E students may attend any session (i.e., NV 3 students may also attend NV 1 sessions and vice versa).

1. Week of Aug. 29
Thursday, Sept. 1 NV3: Organizing meeting
2. Week of Sept. 5
Monday, Sept. 5 NV3: Workshop: Forecasting revenue, speakerBobby Bahram, Managing Partner, Excelerate Health Ventures
Thursday, Sept. 8 NV3: No class meeting: meet with advisor
3. Week of Sept. 12
Monday, Sept. 12 NV3: Checkpoint meeting
Thursday, Sept. 15 NV3: No class meeting: meet with advisor
4. Week of Sept. 19
Monday, Sept. 19 NV3: Workshop: Marketing and sales planning, speaker Rachel Braun Scherl, Co-Founder and Principal, SPARK Solutions for Growth, Division of The Jannick Group, LLC
Thursday, Sept. 22 NV3: No class meeting: meet with advisor
5. Week of Sept. 26
Monday, Sept. 26 NV3: Checkpoint meeting
Thursday, Sept. 29 NV3: No class meeting: meet with advisor
6. Week of Oct. 3
Monday, Oct. 3 NV3: No class meeting: meet with advisor
Thursday, Oct. 6 NV3: Workshop: Operations, R&D, speakerRichard S. Kolodny, President, Drive Medical
Friday. Oct. 7 NV3: Presentations to CEI Advisory Board
7. Week of Oct. 10
Monday, Oct. 10 NV3: Checkpoint meeting

FALL BREAK

8. Week of Oct. 24
Thursday, Oct. 27 NV1: Organizing meeting
9. Week of Oct. 31
Monday, Oct. 31 NV1: Workshop: Market research, speaker:Suzanne Miglucci, President and CEO, Charles & Colvard
Thursday, Nov. 3 NV3: Checkpoint meeting
10. Week of Nov. 7
Monday, Nov. 7 NV1: Workshop: Solution, product strategy, speaker TBD
Thursday, Nov. 10 NV3: Workshop: Financing plan, speaker: Sallie Shuping Russell, Managing Director, Blackrock, Senior Advisor, Blackrock Equity Partners, Chair, Carolina Research Ventures

NV1: No class meeting: meet with advisor

11. Week of Nov. 14
Monday, Nov. 14 NV1: Workshop: Competition, speaker: T.J. Chung, President of Teletrac Navman
Thursday, Nov. 17 NV3: Checkpoint meeting

NV1: No class meeting: meet with advisor

12. Week of Nov. 21
Monday, Nov. 21 NV1: Workshop: Checkpoint meeting
Thursday, Nov. 24 THANKSGIVING
13. Week of Nov. 28
Monday, Nov. 28 NV3: Presentation rehearsal

NV1: No class meeting: meet with advisor

Thursday, Dec. 1 NV1: Presentation rehearsal
13. Week of Dec. 5
Monday, Dec. 5 NV1: Individual presentation review as necessary

NV3: Individual presentation review as necessary

Wednesday, Dec. 7 NV1: Final presentations
Wednesday, Dec. 8 NV3: Final presentations
14. Week of Dec. 12
Wednesday, Dec. 14 NV1: Final reports due

NV3: Final reports due