Spring 2017

This schedule is for New Ventures 2: Strategy Development.

The schedule is subject to revision, please check back regularly.
Unless otherwise indicated, meetings are 3:00 — 5:15 and will be held in the Lilly Classroom at Fuqua.

1. Week of Jan. 16
Thursday, Jan. 19 Organizing meeting
2. Week of Jan 23
Monday, Jan. 23 No class meeting: meet with advisor
Thursday, Jan. 26 Workshop: target customer, speaker: Rich West, founder and CEO, Baebies
3. Week of Jan 30
Monday, Jan. 30 No class meeting: meet with advisor
Thursday, Feb. 2 No class meeting: meet with advisor
4. Week of Feb. 6
Monday, Feb. 6 Checkpoint meeting: target customer

Journal entries due the day before the checkpoint at 11:59 pm

Thursday, Feb. 9 Workshop: business model, speaker: Karen Levert, President of Southeast TechInventures and COO of Ag TechInventures
5. Week of Feb. 13
Monday, Feb. 13 No class meeting: meet with advisor
Thursday, Feb. 16 No class meeting: meet with advisor
6. Week of Feb. 20
Monday, Feb. 20 Checkpoint meeting: business model

Journal entries due the day before the checkpoint at 11:59 pm

Thursday, Feb. 23 Workshop: Sustainable competitive advantage, speaker: David Spitz, CEO, ChannelAdvisor
7. Week of Feb. 27
Monday, Feb. 27 No class meeting: meet with advisor
Friday, March 3, 12:30 – 2:00 Presentations to CEI Advisory Board
SPRING BREAK
8. Week of March 20
Monday, March 20 Checkpoint meeting: sustainable competitive advantage

Journal entries due the day before the checkpoint at 11:59 pm

Thursday, March 23 Workshop: milestone planning, speaker: Jon Fjeld
9. Week of March 27
Monday, March 27 No class meeting: meet with advisor
Thursday, March 30 No class meeting: meet with advisor
10. Week of April 3
Monday, April 3 Checkpoint meeting: Milestones / roadmap

Journal entries due the day before the checkpoint at 11:59 pm

Thursday, April 6 Workshop: Investor perspective, speaker, Christy Shaffer, General Partner, Hatteras Venture Partners
11. Week of April 10
Monday, April 10 No class meeting: meet with advisor
Thursday, April 13 No class meeting: meet with advisor
12. Week of April 17
Monday, April 17 Checkpoint meeting: Financing needs / the “ask”

Journal entries due the day before the checkpoint at 11:59 pm

Thursday, April 20 Presentation rehearsal
13. Week of April 24
Monday, April 24 Individual presentation review as necessary
Thursday, April 27, 3:30 – 6:00 Final presentations
14. Week of May 1
Wednesday, May 3, midnight Final reports due